#### **Installer Duties and Obligations**

PSTB requires that certified installers and junior installers comply with all PST regulations. NMAC 20.5.105 requires that certified installers and junior installers:

- 1) exercise responsible supervisory control over any installation, replacement, repair or modification undertaken and
- 2) give notice as required by these regulations, 20.5 NMAC.

In addition, certified installers must at a minimum be physically present on-site at all critical junctures in the installation, replacement, repair or modification.

Installers and junior installer must also report any suspected or confirmed releases observed at a site or surrounding area (20.5.118 NMAC).

#### **Investigation, enforcement and penalties**

PSTB may enforce regulations and investigate regarding tank installer certifications per 20.5.105.518 NMAC and may revoke certification for an installer upon grounds that the installer:

- 1) used fraud, misrepresentation or deception in obtaining the certification;
- 2) exhibited gross incompetence in the installation, replacement, repair, modification or removal of a storage tank system; or
- 3) was derelict in the performance of a duty as a certified installer or junior installer required in 20.5.105 NMAC (including repeated failure to provide notice of releases or of the installation, replacement, repair, modification or removal of storage tank systems).

PSTB will follow the regulations of the Uniform Licensing Act, NMSA 1978, Sections 61-1-1 through 61-1-33 when denying or revoking certification.



# For more information, contact:

New Mexico Environment Department Petroleum Storage Tank Bureau 2905 Rodeo Park East, Bldg. 1 Santa Fe, NM 87505 (505) 476-4397

https://www.env.nm.gov/petroleum storage tank/

(February 2022 version)

# Requirements for Tank Installer and Junior Installer Certification



New Mexico Environment Department Petroleum Storage Tank Bureau 2905 Rodeo Park Dr. East, Bldg. 1 Santa Fe, NM 87505

#### **Requirements for Tank Installer Certification**

New Mexico has required certification for tank installers since 1989. Anyone exercising supervisory control over a tank installation, repair or modification work that could affect a tank system's integrity must be a certified installer or junior installer per 20.5.105 NMAC (which contains clarifications and exceptions to this general requirement).

#### **Applications**

Requirements for first time certification and for renewal are located on the Petroleum Storage Tank pages of the New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) website,

https://www.env.nm.gov/petroleum\_storage\_tank/. As of 2021, applications are on the Forms page, https://www.env.nm.gov/forms/. Click on "Petroleum Storage Tank Bureau," then click on "Tank Installer, Qualified Tester, and Operator Trainer Forms."

For each type of certification (AST or UST installer, or AST or UST junior installer), the applicant must submit:

- Application
- \$50 fee
- Demonstration of experience
- A passing grade on the International Code Council AST/UST Installation/Retrofitting exam
- Passing grade on NM Laws and Rules exam

AST and UST installer applicants must also pass an on-site exam, which has a fee of \$300.

AST and UST junior installer applicants must also submit certification by the manufacturer of the spill and overfill equipment they install, repair, replace, or modify.

AST junior installer applicants applying to repair and replace entirely above ground piping must also submit a copy of their journeyman pipe fitter (JPF), MM-4, or MM-98 license.

#### **Requirements for certification renewal**

For each type of certification renewal, (AST or UST installer, AST or UST junior installer), the applicant must submit the items submitted for the original application, except for a passing grade on the International Code Council AST/UST Installation/Retrofitting exam. The applicant must also demonstrate completion of two installations, replacements, repairs or modifications of the type of equipment for which he or she is seeking to renew certification.

In addition, AST certified junior installers seeking to renew their certification to repair and replace entirely above ground piping must demonstrate that they have completed at least two repairs or replacements of above ground piping on AST systems or submit a current journeyman pipe fitter (JPF), MM-4, or MM-98 license from the New Mexico construction industries division.

PSTB cannot accept renewal applications after February 16<sup>th</sup> of the year that the installer certification or junior certification expires. The renewal process must be completed by the expiration date of March 16, or the certification expires and the installer or junior installer must complete an application for new certification.

### NM Laws and Rules exam

These are written tests required by 20.5.105 NMAC that are created and administered by PSTB. The exams cover all PST regulations and applicants taking this exam should focus on 20.5 NMAC Parts:

- 101 Definitions.
- 104 Operator Training
- 105 Certification of Tank Installers and Junior Installers; Requirements for Testers
- 106 New and Upgraded Underground Storage Tank Systems: Design, Construction, and Installation
- 107 General Operating Requirements for Underground Storage Tank Systems

- 108 Release Detection for USTs
- 109 New and Upgraded Above Ground Storage Tank Systems: Design, Construction, and Installation
- 110 General Operating Requirements for ASTs
- 111 Release Detection for ASTs
- 112 AST Emergency Generator Systems
- 113 UST Emergency Generator Systems
- 114 Airport Hydrant Fuel Distribution Systems, UST Systems with Field-Constructed Tanks, and Hybrid Storage Tank Systems
- 115 Out-of-Service Storage Tank Systems and Closure
- 116 Delivery Prohibition
- 118 Reporting and Investigation of Suspected and Confirmed Releases

Applicants may take this test at any PSTB field office listed on this brochure. A \$45 fee is required for each individual AST or UST certification.

Payment should be made to the Storage Tank Fund and mailed to the Santa Fe office with a letter that indicates the preferred location and date for the test.

## **On-Site Examination**

This exam required by 20.5.105.510 NMAC entails a complete tank system installation supervised by a PSTB inspector within 180 days from the date the application is submitted and requires a nonrefundable \$300 fee.

An applicant fails an on-site exam when cited for 3 significant errors during the on-site examination. Errors are defined as improper use of materials or installation practices that violate PSTB regulations, manufacturer's installation instructions or any other industry standards. A PSTB inspector may stop an on-site exam at any time if any activity presents a threat to public health, safety or welfare of the environment.